Windows Live Mail

I’m writing this post because I’m frustrated by the incompetence of Microsoft in dealing with their users to fix a program.

I’m talking about Windows Live Mail.

Since March last year (I think the exact date of the issue being reported is March 20th 2011, but I’m not sure exactly) WLMail keeps freezing when a accessing Facebook notification. People have been complaining to Microsoft (just look at these threads on Microsoft Answers), but not only that the problem hasn’t been fixed (after a year and half!), but Microsoft actually keeps toying with their answers. When they notice people are sick and tired of their games, they just lock the topic giving a stupid explanation. What’s worse, they even marked a few threads as solution(s), but after spending hours going through them, you find shit of a solution.
We have, similarly, tried asking Facebook, which really has crappy help center, for help. They were so helpful, that people created the Facebook group Facebook Notifications Crash Windows Live Mail… Windows Live Mail versions facing the issue are 2009, 2011 and 2012 (probably even older versions, I just haven’t tried them). The last version, 2012, was released well after (i.e. a year and four months after) the issue was reported and the issue persists. Even the version 2011 had been updated like a million times after the report, but no bloody fix in a single update.
I even wrote about the issue on Wikipedia Windows Live Mail article a few times, but admins deleted what I’d wrote. It’s interesting how Wikipedia is supposed to be a free encyclopaedia which everyone can edit, yet my edits are gone… Since my claims can easily be validated by simply creating an email account of an address which receives Facebook notifications on WLMail, my guess is that Wikipedia doesn’t want go to Microsoft disfavour.
And no, this shit isn’t just happening to me on my computer. I have tried it on other computers too and the same thing happens. I reinstalled Windows and even reformatted my hard drive(s) a few times – same shit. As I said, switching back to old versions doesn’t help either and even if it did, all Windows Live programs must be the same version (e.g. you can’t have WLMail 2009 with WLMessenger 2011). Besides, if I were alone, there wouldn’t be the mentioned Facebook group, which I didn’t found, but joined only recently.

Now you see why Microsoft is a piece of shit, and people give them money… Spoiled rich bastards…
Anyway, it’s time to show you that Windows Live Mail is a piece of shit.

This is another issue, for which Microsoft has done shit to solve…
In To and From columns certain characters are not displayed. The problem is not in the encoding ’cause all letters are shown everywhere else correctly. For example, according to Windows Live Mail, Ivana eo sent me an email and not Ivana Šešo. Depending on your language, this might be a minor inconvenience because you might encounter the “chosen” characters rarely. Suffice it to say that the mentioned Š is quite common in Croatian. Like with Facebook notification, this issue is present in nearly all, if not all, WLMail versions (I know that it is present in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 8.5 if I remember correctly).



The above picture shows a mailbox in Windows Live Mail. The bottom picture shows the same mailbox in Outlook.com with the From column as it should be. Click on the images to enlarge them.

The last issue I’ll mention was actually fixed in version 2011. Strangely though, when I had reported it before the release of the version 2011, responses were like What the hell are you talking about?! Anyway, if you set your default spellchecking language to Croatian [probably other languages too – I know I tried Bosnian and Serbian (Latin) – same thing], the program would crash just a few seconds after you type something. I had to set the default language to English to avoid the crashes, which was an inconvenience ’cause although, I use English often, I mostly use Croatian.
Generally, switching to another language (i.e. one that’s not default) is totally screwed – you have to change the keyboard input to the desired language. That’s quite annoying because of two reasons. One, seeing every bloody word underlined is really annoying. Two, if you do want to spellcheck the text not written in the default language, you have to use a keyboard layout you’re not used to. The trick is to simply write your email in another program, which has easy spellchecking language switching (i.e. every bloody program, but WLMail), and then copy the text to WLMail or simply write the stuff in WLMail and then copy the text to another program for a spellcheck.

That’s it, people. Conclusion: Windows Live Mail is the biggest piece of shit of an email client you can find.

Posted on August 28th, 2012 at 22:02 GMT
Use Time Zone Converter to quickly convert the time

2 thoughts on “Windows Live Mail

  1. Nelandir Post author

    I only use WLMail because it is the only email client that supports IMAP kind of Outlook.com and amongst other free e-mail, I find Outlook.com the best.
    Well, I can view Facebook email normally now😮

    Reply

Leave a Reply

